Meteora Monasteries

Meteora is an extraordinary place situated in central Greece, near the town of Kalabaka. The Monasteries of Meteora are built on tremendous natural pillars and hill, created to serve monks and nuns following the teachings of the Eastern Orthodox Church during the 11th Century. The were an original twenty four monasteries, but today there are only six of them: The Monastery of Great Meteoron, The Monastery of Varlaam, The Monastery of Rousanou/St. Barbara, The Monastery of St. Nicholas Anapausas, The Monastery of St. Stephen and The Monastery of the Holy Trinity.

Meteora is a perfect combination of architecture and history, and it attracts over two million visitors annually. It is on the UNESCO's World Heritage Sites list since 1988.

Tours to Meteora Monasteries from Kalambaka

See all

Tours to Meteora Monasteries from Athens

See all

Meteora Day Trip from Athens by Train

From: 105.00 €
(Per person)

Tours to Meteora Monasteries from Thessaloniki

See all

Our recommended activities for Kalambaka